Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Michael W. Modica Law Your Cause Is My Purpose.
  • Fights Hard to Win
  • ~
  • Contact Us Today

Wilmington DUI Penalties

In the case of most misdemeanor offenses, a person convicted of a crime is likely to face at most a fine, and possibly some jail time in more serious cases. When it comes to driving under the influence (DUI), not only are the potential fines steep (up to $1,500 for a first offense), but the penalties quickly grow for subsequent offenses, including mandatory jail time. An additional consequence of a DUI is revocation of your driver’s license for a significant period.

My name is Michael Modica, and for over 30 years I have been helping people like you in Wilmington and New Castle County who have found themselves on the wrong end of a DUI traffic stop facing serious negative consequences. Drunk driving cases are zealously prosecuted in Delaware and penalized very harshly. Trust me to give you the advice and representation you need to make the best decisions and get the best results in your DUI case.

If you have been arrested for DUI in Delaware, what kinds of penalties can you face if you are convicted?

Penalties for a DUI conviction in Delaware include administrative sanctions, criminal penalties, and actions against your driver’s license. Here are some of the penalties you can face if convicted of DUI in Delaware.

First Offense – $500 to 1,500 fine, up to twelve months in jail, driver’s license revocation from one to two years

Second Offense – $750 to $2,500 in fines, mandatory jail sentence from 60 days up to 18 months,
24 to 30 month driver’s license revocation

Third Offense – up to $5,000 in fines, mandatory one to two years in jail, driver’s license revocation from two to three years

All offenses after the second offense are felonies, and penalties increase all the way up to a mandatory 10-15 years in jail, $10,000-$15,000 in fines, and a five-year revocation of your driver’s license.

Get Help from an Experienced and Dedicated New Castle County DUI Defense Attorney

The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are immediate and severe, and they rapidly increase for subsequent offenses. With stakes so high, it is important to take any DUI arrest seriously and get help from an experienced Delaware DUI defense attorney. In Wilmington and surrounding areas, call my office at 302-600-1262 for immediate assistance. I offer a free initial consultation and represent individuals throughout New Castle County, including students at the University of Delaware.

Share This Page:

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation