Driving in Delaware on an Out-of-State Suspended License
Delaware is in close proximity to several US states, so it is common for out-of-state drivers to pass through or stay for personal reasons and professional business. Of course, all traffic laws apply no matter where you call home, including Delaware’s statute on driving a vehicle on a suspended license. In many jurisdictions, a person’s driving privileges are suspended because of repeat violations, unpaid traffic tickets, or DUI. However, the details vary by state.
When you drive on a suspended license from a different state, you are still violating the law within the borders of Delaware. The state’s laws apply, including the harsh penalties that you face. There are strategies to defend your interests, and a Wilmington driver’s license suspensions attorney will advise you on options. You can also read on for information on what to expect in Delaware and in your home state when you drive on a suspended license.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Delaware: If your driving privileges have been suspended or revoked in your home state, you face the following penalties for operating a vehicle on Delaware’s roads:
- For a first-time offense, you will receive a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000. Plus, the judge will sentence you to a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 6 months in jail.
- If you are convicted of driving on a suspended license multiple times, the fine is at least $1,000 and could be up to $4,000. You could also be imprisoned for a minimum of 60 days, though a judge could order up to 1 year in jail.
Potential Penalties in Your Home State: Keep in mind that Delaware law enforcement communicates closely with departments in other states and shares information on convictions for driving-related offenses. The driver’s license issuing authority in your home state may have penalties for driving while your license is suspended. These could affect you, depending on how the laws work. In many cases, your driving privileges will be suspended just as if you committed the offense in the state where you live.
Hiring Local Counsel for a Driver’s License Suspension: Considering the potential for high fines and jail time, you will need skilled legal help to defend your case. Under the circumstances, it is wise to choose a Delaware criminal defense lawyer to handle the proceedings. Local counsel has in-depth knowledge about the laws covering driver’s license suspensions in Delaware, as well as experience working in the courtroom where your case is pending. Plus, it will be a quick trip to court for an attorney who practices within the state.
Talk to a Delaware Driver’s License Suspensions Lawyer About Defense Options
The penalties for driving on an out-of-state suspended license are severe, and the best way to defend yourself in the case is to retain local representation. To learn more, please contact Attorney Michael W. Modica. You can call 302.600.1262 or visit our website to reach our offices in Wilmington, DE. We can set up a consultation to review your case and determine how to apply available defense strategies.